If you are interested in getting a Utah
Concealed Firearm Permit, you have come to the right place. As a
trained and certified instructor, I'll make sure that you know what
you need to know, know where to find the latest Utah firearm laws and
what they say, and that you understand the personal responsibility
and individual accountability that come with a
Utah Concealed Firearm Permit
Our Utah Concealed Firearm Permit Classes adhere to the BCI
requirements found at the Utah BCI Website here.
This is NOT an NRA training course. It is is the Utah-required BCI
Concealed Firearm Permit (CCW / CFP) education course. I am a Utah
BCI-certified instructor for this course.
This course includes Instruction and
Certification, Course Materials CD, and Passport-Type Photo. Class
In this course, I spend some time to place a heavy emphasis on items
such as Situational Awareness and AVOIDING the
need to ever use a concealed firearm. A Concealed Firearm
Permit does NOT make you a police officer. You should do all that you
can to avoid trouble. It's there for when you do all that you can to
avoid it, and yet trouble still comes looking for you.
You can find some of this information on-line here.
We go into far more detail during the class.
My classes normally cost $30. I can offer a
substantial discount for private group reservations of 20 or more students.
For location and registration information,
Classes take about 4.5 to 5 hours as I
offer plenty of time for questions and we cover all of the required material.
Students should NOT bring a firearm or live ammunition to class.
Standard firearms handling exercises are conducted in a dry-fire
environment with no live ammo in the classroom. Students are tested
with real firearms (both revolvers and semi-automatic pistols) and
plastic inert ammunition to demonstrate understanding of firearm
safety / safe handling and the ability to operate (load, aim,
discharge, unload) the firearm correctly.
If you would like to arrange live-fire testing and experience during
the class, I can do that as well at a slightly higher cost due to
renting a shooting range.
Students are provided with a CD-ROM with
all class materials including the required course outline, Utah Laws
and Information, and bonus materials covering the use of force
continuum and other firearms and defensive topics - plus product
reviews and recommendations.
Persons taking my class must be:
Law-abiding adults 21 years of age or older
Legal residents of the United States of America
Eligible to legally handle firearms (NO convicted felons / illegal
drug users / persons with Domestic Violence issues / etc)
Meet all of the qualifications to apply for a Utah Concealed Firearm
Permit as shown here.
Students must be in attendance and attentive for the entire duration
of the class.
Please bring note taking materials, and your
Photo ID (Driver License or State ID Card).
Please also note that the entire class is handled in English.
To apply for your permit, you will need to
submit the following to BCI:
Your application with my
stamp and signature which are provided upon successful completion of
A photocopy of your State-issued Driver License or Identification Card.
A set of fingerprints on an approved blue & white fingerprint card.
A passport-type photo (2" x 2" with your name printed on
I recommend that you get the fingerprints taken care of at BCI when
you drop off your permit application. You know that the fingerprints
were done correctly by a professional when you get them done there.
Their information is at http://publicsafety.utah.gov/bci/PublicServices.html.
Fingerprints are $15. You can also get blue and white fingerprint
cards taken at many Sheriff or PD offices (see the link to the right).
The Utah Fee for applying is payable to BCI and is $60.00 for Utah
Residents and $65.00 for non-Utah residents - with $30.25 of that
going to the FBI for fingerprint checks. You pay that fee when you
drop off the application at BCI.
Please note - If you are not a Utah resident and live in a state
where Concealed Firearm Permits are avaialble - you must obtain your
home state permit FIRST and include a copy of it with your Utah
Renewals are only $15.00 every 5 years with a new passport-type photo
and renewal application
submitted. There is no re-certification course required.
I also offer NRA Firearm Training Courses. I am certified to teach
Pistol, Home Firearms Safety, and Personal Protection in the Home.
You can learn more about these classes and contact me about them here.
Whatever you decide and wherever you take your
training, I recommend that you keep training and learning. There are
a lot of good classes out there that can further enhance your
knowledge, abilities, and confidence.
I also recommend that you join the NRA. Add your voice to those of
others in keeping the 2nd Amendment strong, and take advantage of the
great technical and reference information available in the NRA
magazines and publications. Click on this photo and save $10 on a
membership or renewal sponsored by iCarryUtah.com.